Fantasia

James Lileks bites yet another madeleine. He’s talking about Fantasia:

…this was one of the moments that fixed my aesthetic sense in a particular time and place, and I’ve never shook those impressions. It was 1939. It sounds, and looks, like the last plea for grace before the world fell apart.

And how. I saw it in kindergarten, on a reel-to-reel projector (remember those?). For me, it was the Pegasus in Beethoven 6, particularly the moment when the stallion alights in the aerie. Those few seconds bit into my brain and became part of the mortar for Lewis, Tolkein, Stewart, and the rest. The rest I forgot – even that I had seen the film – until years later, when I saw it again and those memories fired up.

Leave a Reply

