Friday Mystery Author: January 26, 2007

Welcome to this week’s edition of Friday Mystery Author, in which we challenge all comers to identify the source (author and title) of a more or less obscure passage from literature – broadly defined.

After dark, you must always know exactly where the flashlight is. Otherwise, chaos. My flashlight spends the night in an easy-to-feel position in one bedside boot. And I have a rule that when it is in intermittent use, such as before and during dinner, I never let go my grasp on it without putting it in the pocket designated for the night (which pocket depends on what I’m wearing). This rule is so strict that I rarely break it more than three or four times a night.

Come to think of it, it might be worth tying the flashlight to a loop of nylon cord large enough to slip over your head.

For more on flashlights, see page 221.

This one is a little more unusual than the last few editions, perhaps, so if you don’t recognize it, just say hello. Last week’s edition is here and the answer is here.

4 Responses to “Friday Mystery Author: January 26, 2007”

  1. imani Says:

    Darn it, I haven’t a clue although I feel as if I should. Since I don’t I’m just popping in for a hello.

  2. Timothy Says:

    Hey, good to see you again. Hello back at you. This one is a bit off the wall, it’s not strictly literature, but I sure liked it as a kid. I’ll leave it open till Monday.

  3. Friday Mystery Author: Colin Fletcher « Zeal and Activity Says:

    […] Mystery Author: Colin Fletcher This week’s mystery passage was from “the hiker’s bible:” The Complete Walker, by Colin Fletcher. This was a […]

  4. Friday Mystery Author: February 2, 2007 « Zeal and Activity Says:

    […] Stop by on Monday for the answer. Last week’s edition of Friday Mystery Author is here. […]

Leave a Reply

