Friday Mystery Author: January 19, 2007

Welcome to this week’s Friday Mystery Author, just under the wire. Every Friday we post a selection from literature more or less obscure, and challenge all comers to identify the title and author. Or, just say hello in the comments. We’re glad you’re here.

But here were books, and here were men who had penetrated deeper and knew more. I took their word for all that they averred, and I became their disciple. It may appear strange that such should arise in the eighteenth century; but while I followed the routine of education in the schools of Geneva, I was, to a great degree, self taught with regard to my favourite studies. My father was not scientific, and I was left to struggle with a child’s blindness, added to a student’s thirst for knowledge. Under the guidance of my new preceptors, I entered with the greatest diligence into the search of the philosopher’s stone and the elixir of life; but the latter soon obtained my undivided attention. Wealth was an inferior object; but what glory would attend the discovery, if I could banish disease from the human frame, and render man invulnerable to any but a violent death!

Nor were these my only visions. The raising of ghosts or devils was a promise liberally accorded by my favourite authors, the fulfilment of which I most eagerly sought; and if my incantations were always unsuccessful, I attributed the failure rather to my own inexperience and mistake than to a want of skill or fidelity in my instructors. And thus for a time I was occupied by exploded systems, mingling, like an unadept, a thousand contradictory theories, and floundering desperately in a very slough of multifarious knowledge, guided by an ardent imagination and childish reasoning, till an accident again changed the current of my ideas.

As always, stop by on Monday for the answer. Last week’s Friday Mystery Author is here. Have a good weekend.

4 Responses to “Friday Mystery Author: January 19, 2007”

  1. imani Says:

    Ok, this has to be Mary Shelley – Frankenstein. If it’s not, pretend I didn’t submit this.

  2. Timothy Says:

    Imani, you absolutely nailed it. Frankenstein it is. And I love, love your header image. Thanks for coming.

    Cheers

  3. imani Says:

    Yay! Thanks for the compliment on the header–a lot of people take to it.

  4. Friday Mystery Author: Mary Shelley « Zeal and Activity Says:

    […] Zeal and Activity Religion, politics, business, books, and music. « Friday Mystery Author: January 19, 2007 […]

Leave a Reply

