Friday Mystery Author: January 12, 2007

Welcome to this week’s Friday Mystery Author, inexcusably late. If you recognize this passage (or if you don’t) please say hello in the comments. Leave your URL if you have a blog. Without further ado:

I have now been married ten years. I know what it is to live entirely for and with what I love best on earth. I hold myself supremely blest–blest beyond what language can express; because I am my husband’s life as fully is he is mine. No woman was ever nearer to her mate than I am: ever more absolutely bone of his bone and flesh of his flesh. I know no weariness of my Edward’s society: he knows none of mine, any more than we each do of the pulsation of the heart that beats in our separate bosoms; consequently, we are ever together. To be together is for us to be at once as free as in solitude, as gay as in company. We talk, I believe, all day long: to talk to each other is but a more animated and an audible thinking. All my confidence is bestowed on him, all his confidence is devoted to me; we are precisely suited in character–perfect concord is the result.

Stop back on Monday when we reveal the author and title. Last week’s Mystery Author is here.  Have a good weekend.

2 Responses to “Friday Mystery Author: January 12, 2007”

  1. Friday Mystery Author: Charlotte Bronte « Zeal and Activity Says:

    […] Mystery Author: Charlotte Bronte This week’s Friday Mystery Author was Charlotte Bronte; the passage, from the final chapter of her 1847 novel Jane Eyre.  Stop by on […]

  2. Friday Mystery Author: January 19, 2007 « Zeal and Activity Says:

    […] always, stop by on Monday for the answer. Last week’s Friday Mystery Author is here. Have a good […]

Leave a Reply

